Outerra Worlds Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Author Topic: DEM for climate model  (Read 8685 times)

Dan

• View Profile
DEM for climate model
« on: October 24, 2013, 08:14:12 pm »

Hi all,
I am a climate scientist at the University of Bristol, UK, and a huge Tolkien fan since an early age!  For some outreach activities, I am interested in running a climate simulation of Tolkien's Middle Earth.  My 'normal' work involves setting up the climate model for many past time periods of the Earth when the continents were in different positions, so doing the same for Middle Earth / Arda is not a huge leap!  In order to do this, I need a DEM.  In particular, a DEM (topography and bathymetry) at a resolution of about 720 x 360 points covering the 'globe' (any resolution is actually OK, as I can regrid).  Most formats would be OK (e.g. zipped ascii/binary).  I could probably work with a native ArcGIS format as well.  I would obviously acknowledge the project appropriately if it was successful.
Looking forward to hearing from you - hope this is possible!
Thanks a lot,
Dan
« Last Edit: October 24, 2013, 08:44:44 pm by Dan »

Redrobes

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: DEM for climate model
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 12:37:41 am »